NHL Awards 2016 Vegas baby!

What happens in Vegas.. hopefully doesn’t stay in Vegas.

On June 22nd, the NHL will hold its annual awards ceremony to honor the best players of the regular season.  Hosted by Will Arnett from The Joint at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino. Arnett, famous from the upcoming Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle movie was quoted as saying “I’m excited to host the 2016 NHL awards because we all know in 2017 I’ll be celebrating the Leafs winning the Stanley Cup.”

Our very own Washington Capitals have quite a few finalists in the running for several awards:

General Manager Brian MacLellan for GM of the year.

Head coach Barry Trotz for the Jack Adams award (Top Coach).

Alex Ovechkin for the Mark Messier leadership award. Ovi has already won the Maurice “Rocket” Richard goal scoring leader award, this was his 6th time winning the award.

Braden Holtby is up for two awards.. The Vezina (Top Goaltender) & the Ted Lindsey award (Most Outstanding Player as voted by the players)

The Caps are up against excellent competition for each award, but as we think back to what an excellent season the Caps had, we really believe the Caps organization will see those awards coming home to DC!

The NHL awards will be aired on NBCSN at 7pm . Listed below are all the finalists for their respective awards. Good luck to all!

Vezina -Braden Holtby, Ben Bishop (Tampa Bay) & Jonathan Quick (LA).

Selke (defensive forward)-Patrice Bergeron (Boston), Ryan Kesler (Anaheim) & Anze Kopitar ( LA).

Norris (Top Defenseman)- Brent Burns (SJ), Drew Doughty (LA) & Erik Karlsson (OTT).

Lady Bing Memorial trophy (Sportsmanship)- Alexsander Barkov (FLA), Loui Eriksson (Boston) & Anze Kopitar (LA).

Masterton (Dedication to hockey/sportsmanship)- Pascal Dupuis (PIT), Jaromir Jagr (FLA) & Mats Zuccarello (NYR).

Calder (Top Rookie)- Artemi Panarin (CHI), Conner McDavid (EDM) & Shayne Gostisbehere (PHI).

Mark Messier (Leadership)- Alex Ovechkin, Shea Weber (Nashville) & John Tavares (NYI).

NHL Foundation award (Enriching Community)- P.K. Subban (Montreal), Matt Martin (NYI) & Mark Giordano (Calgary).

Ted Lindsay (Most Outstanding Player as voted on by other players)- Braden Holtby, Patrick Kane (Chicago) & Jamie Benn (Dallas).

Hart Trophy (MVP)- Patrick Kane (Chicago), Sydney Crosby (PIT) & Jamie Benn (Dallas).

Jack Adams (Top Coach) Barry Trotz, Gerard Gallant (FLA) & Lindy Ruff (Dallas).

General Manager of the year- Brian MacLellan, Jim Nill (Dallas) & Jim Rutherford (PIT).

The NHL draft will be held two days later Friday June 24th & 25th. Stay tuned to FICP for updates on the Washington Capitals picks in the 4th & 5th rounds.


The week after the draft:

Caps development camp starts Monday June 27th. Again stay tuned for updates and pictures of all the events taking place throughout development camp. Lots events coming soon and we’ll have it covered for you: STH Movie night at Verizon, Fan Fest, equipment sale, alumni game, and a final scrimmage on Saturday July 2nd at Kettler.

Leave a Reply